it went bang, bang, bang straight through my heart.

Image

SATURDAY TO DO’s:

  • Go to yoga
  • Get coffee
  • Eat lunch
  • Get bangs
  • Go to the store
  • See “The Hunger Games”

Yup. I did it. I pulled the trigger and BANG BANG (pun intended), I got bangs! This is something I’ve wanted to do for a really long time. But I woke up today and knew today was the day.

My obsession with bangs goes all the way back to 9th grade. As I recall, “The OC” was the hot show and Mischa Barton had bangs. I remember marching my butt into the hair salon and requesting bangs. But, 14 year old me chickened out and went for a {less aggressive} side bang. It was just too big of a commitment. 

In college, my friend Heather got full bangs and I was SO jealous. They looked amazing on her and she totally rock them. Again, I marched into the hair salon with a picture of Reese Witherspoon and insisted someone give me her bangs. My hair dresser at the time told me he could do it… but it would look very different because my part was blah blah blah blah blah. Long story short, no bangs.

I thought maybe I had finally grown out of my “bang-session” when I graduate college. I was pretty happy with my hair, but still felt something was missing. Then, out of nowhere, EVERYONE (aka 2 of my style/fashion icons) got bangs. I thought “ENOUGH IS ENOUGH” and I decided (this morning during downward dog in yoga) that I was going to do it. My hair grows pretty fast and what’s the worst thing that could happen? I don’t like them. I’ve had a few haircuts I didn’t like, and I survived. So as any well informed person would do, I yelped “hair salons near me.”

{Enter Soon Beauty Lab} I decided to go to Soon because 1.) Their logo is adorable, 2.) They were only 10 blocks away from my apartment, and 3.) They had glowing reviews on Yelp. I called up my bestie Allison and requested her attendance at this crazy event.

Soon was amazing! It was cute, clean, well decorated, and had very reasonable prices. Also, I didn’t even make an appointment and they fit me in with Hannah on-the-spot. Being the stalker that I am I showed Hannah a picture of Bri Emery’s bangs and asked if I could pull them off. She told me I could totally rock them and started cutting. 20 minutes and a lot of hair later… I had bangs!

I absolutely LOVE them and am so happy with my decision. They kind of make my forehead itchy, but I think I’ll get over that soon {or at least I hope I do}.

xox L

One thought on “it went bang, bang, bang straight through my heart.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.