The Beauty Blender

Sephora.com

It’s not often I buy a beauty product and feel like it’s so revolutionary that I have to tell everyone about it. But finally I have an exception; the Beauty Blender. I have seen this little pink teardrop in magazines, makeup tutorials, and even in my friends makeup bags, but I never really understood all of the hype. For those of you who don’t know, the Beauty Blender is a non-disposable sponge applicator that helps you to apply makeup (like foundation, creme blush and even concealer). It’s meant to replace your disposable triangle sponges that you buy at the drugstore.

So, I took matters into my own hands and went out and purchased one of these little sponges. Brace yourself if you go out to buy one, one blender is $19.95 and two are $25.95  (I recommend 2). The sales clerk also tried to talk me into buying the cleaner, but I was still a little shell-shocked over the price so I decided I’d try to clean it myself (big mistake just buy the fricken cleaner for $17.95).

I got home and tried out my Beauty Blender and to my surprise, my foundation looked absolutely flawless. I couldn’t believe how airbrushed/ dewy I looked. I also loved that I only had to use a little foundation. Because you run the sponge under water before applying your makeup, the sponge doesn’t absorb extra foundation and you end up using a fraction of what you normally would.

Below is a quick description of how to use the blender.

  1. Take the sponge out of its case by pulling it THROUGH THE BOTTOM of the holder. If you pull it through the top you will most likely rip the sponge.
  2. Run the sponge under tap water (I usually use warm water) for about 10 seconds (you’ll notice that the sponge will double in size). Ring out the extra water, then wrap it in a towel and squeeze out any extra moisture. The sponge will feel moist but shouldn’t be soaking wet.
  3. Take your liquid foundation and put it on the back of your hand. This will serve as your working surface.
  4. Take the top (point) of the sponge and dip it into the foundation. Stipple the sponge on the back of your hand to be sure you don’t have excess foundation. Then, begin applying the foundation to your face using a sipping motion. Don’t drag the sponge across your face, this will leave you looking matte and blah.
  5. Use the smallest point to get those hard areas around your nose and eyes.
  6. Tada! You’re done (and probably look amazing)

Unfortunately, I wasn’t ready to dish out $17 for the cleaner, so I usually rinse my sponge out under the sink when finished. I have had my beauty blender for about 2 months now and have been so happy with my results. If you are thinking about purchasing one, I have a few tips. First, just splurge and buy the blender/ cleaner duo ($34.95 at Sephora.com). If you don’t buy the cleaner, your sponge does begin to get dirty and the more you wash it under the sink the more it starts to fall apart. I would also recommend buying two of the blenders. After two months, mine is about on its last leg. It’ll save you a trip to the store. On the bright side,  I use a smaller amount of foundation and my application time is cut in half!

Do you have a Beauty Blender? Do you love it? Let me know!

xox L

5 thoughts on “The Beauty Blender

  1. Pingback: MY CURRENT OBSESSIONS « Love, Swett & Neon Pink.

  2. Have you ever thought about including a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is fundamental and all. Nevertheless think of if you added some great pictures or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and video clips, this site could undeniably be one of the best in its niche. Superb blog!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.